Quality Cumbria – Cumbria Tourist Board approved  

         BROUGHTON BANK COTTAGE - a Cartmel Holiday Cottage
Broughton Bank Cottage





Gold Award from Green Tourism for ecological business practice ... King Size 'Forest Bed' made at home with yew posts and elm sides from the owners trees in both cottages ... WiFi Broadband with speeds of up to 13Mb/s now available in both cottages ...

 

Cartmel  Cartmel Village website

Events in Cumbria

Lake District

Lake District

 

Testimonials
These comments are taken from the visitors' book which is left in the cottage.

May 2018
Wendy and Graham "Lovely Cottage in a beautiful location. Great place to relax and recharge. We were lucky with the weather".
The Peirsons "Beautiful quaint little cottage, so peaceful nestled into the woods. Everything we needed. We were a family of 4 (children 10 and 7 years). We were attending the race meeting in Cartmel and it was perfect, we were able to walk home afterwards. Thank you very much".

April 2018
Pandora, Matt, Rowan and Ethan "Had an amazing time at the cottage, the house is beautiful with everything we need. So cozy. The master bedroom was our favourite room with that gorgeous bed. Our youngest is autistic so having it quiet with a safe place to play and explore was brilliant for him. Thank you so much for a brilliant time".
Steph, Adrian and Tegan the wiry Vizsla "Have enjoyed a really relaxing week. Loved shopping for cheese a\nd wine lunches in Cartmel. Such a peaceful location and cozy cottage. Lovely to hear the owls at night outside the cottage. Thank you for a wonderfulo week".

March 2018
Isabelle and David "A wonderful stay in the cottage surrounded by majestic nature and trees. Very quiet, peaceful place, and very cosy with the fireplace and comfy beds and duvets. Great walks in the Lake District, a beautiful (but windy) park run on Saturday morning. And we also gave our car a rest by walking to the beach by foot".

February 2018
Tom, Nicky and Sam, Haslemere, Surrey "A very enjoyable stay in the cottage and surrounding area. Very comfy beds and peace and quiet left us feeling very relaxed and refreshed. Lots of activities locally - need another week so we must come back. Highly recommended the following activities: Lakeland Motor Museum, Bowness, Hilltop Farm (walk up from the ferry from Bowness), walk to Grange returning via Hampsfell Hospice for fabulous views, Old Man of Coniston, Cartmel Priory and village. A very cold, snowy, hail and windy week meant we had to abandon plans for Scafell Pike so we will come back another time. Everywhere there are fabulous views"!

December 2017
Caroline and Mark "Happy New Year. We really enjoyed our few days at the cottage yet again. Looking forward to our visit in the summer".

October 2017
Mick, Julie and Betty "Had a very relaxing stay and enjoyed visiting Cumbria. Thank you".
John, Rachel and Paul, from Salford and Burnley "The cottage is cozy and tranquil. We enjoyed the wood burner and being able to look at the sky through the skylights. We recommend Cartmel Priory and Racecourse and had a lovely meal at the Cavendish Arms. Take a torch for the country lanes". [There is a power failure light that is portable - John]

September 2017
Phil Jenny and Travis "It is a cosy warm cottage tucked away from busy Cartmel in the woods, perfect for a long weekend. We had a great time walking in this area. Thank you for having us. Enjoyed it immensely".
Jacob, Wendy, Jack, Stella and Maximus our dog "Thank you for opening your cottage to us and our family. We enjoyed our stay in the Lake District and how accommodating you were to us. We had a wonderful visit!"

August 2017
Mark, Caroline and Watson and Sherlock the dogs "Yet another restful stay at this lovely cottage. We enjoyed the garden when the sun came out!!?! Thanks John for the loan of the jacket and being so helpful. We are looking forward to our return visit at New Year".
Chloe Matt and Reuben "Thank you for a lovely time. The cottage has been wonderfully comfortable - just perfect for us and our two year old son. We've enjoyed exploring the southern lakes and spending time in Cartmel itself".

July 2017
Vicky Dave Lisa and Chris "Thank you for a lovely stay - great place, great hospitality - had everything we needed".
Rob and Donna from Hertfordshire "Thank you - what a lovely quiet hideaway. The Lakes are breathtaking!"
Sumitra Kanshik and Jitaiyah "We had a wonderful time at Broughton Bank. It's a cottage in the wilderness yet has all the comforts of home! We have come from a tropical country (India) and loved the weather, the flora, the Lakes and the place at Lake District. John, it's been a delight to stay at your lovely place, will definitely come back again, regards".

June 2017
Deborah, Andrew, Tim and Anne "Wished we had looked at this journal at the beginning of the holiday. We haven't seen any flora or fauna or been to the very overpriced eatery. But we have visited all the public houses, we had a great win on the horses and we laughed until we burst our rib cages. The cottage is / was fabulous and so we will return in order to do all the stuff your previous visitors recommend, thank you so much!"
Julie, Martin and Archie "What a lovely cottage in such a tranquil setting, we've enjoyed our break - thank you. Had some great food in the Sun Inn in Ulverston and the Royal Oak in Cartmel. Great trip to the beach at Haverigg and some fabulous weather, although the rain has arrived now. Thanks for the milk and flowers!"
Craig, Alison, Dominique and Bailey "Peace and tranquility! Gorgeous setting and very homely. Amazing waking up to the birds and sheep. Plenty to do with the coast and Lakes not far. Recommned the beach at Bardsea and Derwent Water walk was well worth the trip alone! Highly recommend Flounders Fish and Chip shop in Grange over Sands [Ed: that shop is in Flookburgh]. Had a lovely stay and would definitely recommend. All the best".

May 2017
Gary, Elizabeth, Jonas and Ella "Lovely stay, great cottage. Look forward to a return trip. Thanks for the great trip!"
Shaun and Patricia "Thank you for a fabulous stay at Broughton Bank. The cottage is really cosy and warm, lovely surroundings - with wildlife but not much else - perfect for a relaxing break. We very much enjoyed our visits to Cartmel and our meal at the Royal Oak. And as an added bonus we have had great weather all week! Thank you".

April 2017
Beth Martin (West Wales) and Marc (Melbourne) Wilson "Thank you for letting us stay at Broughton Bank and enabling us to spend time with our son who was over from Australia to be Best Man at a wedding at Bigland Hall. We had a lovely few days exploring the area and also Keswick and Borrowdale - fantastic. Can really recommend the food at the King's Head and Royal Oak! Local beers are great and had fun sampling them! Lovely cottage which suited all our needs. Thank you once again".
Janet Mark Emily and Robin "Thank you for a lovely place to stay. Celebrating our son's 21st birthday and a very special meal at L'enclume. Great walk over to the Hospice with lovely views. Holker hall gardens looking beautiful at this time of year. Time to relax, a rare treat".
Maria Ian, Ellis (12) and Luca (10) Killick "We have had another lovely stay at Broughton Bank Cottage. We said four years ago when we first stayed here: we will come back! Lovely and quiet, and loved waking up to all the birds singing. Now the boys are older we managed some proper walks, Langdale Pike and the Old man of Coniston. Hope to see you again.

March 2017
Anna and ian Jones "thank you for letting us into your cosy and welcoming home. We have had a great time exploring the area and wonderful weather throughout".

February 2017
Mark and Marie from Manchester "A beautiful cottage in beautiful settings. We loved every minute, very close to the village and the Beatrix Potter house that we visited. We loved the views and the cottage was very warm with the log fire, can't wait to come again, so peaceful and relaxing. tahnky ou John and biddy for having us to stay at the cottage".
Amy Paul and Megan Astley "Gorgeous cottage in a fantastic location - thank you for making us feel so welcome and for providing the perfect home from home. We look foward to returning in the future and I will be recommending to family and friends. PS Megan also loved the cottage and found it very exciting exploring the layout. We also can't believe how much she loved the cot".
Gillian Mark Corrie and Hannah Jennison "Enjoyed our few days here very much. A lovely quaint cottage with loads of character. beautiful area - we will be back. Thanks!"

December 2016
Mark Caroline and the dogs "This is our fourth visit to the cottage and like the previous visits we felt at home straight away - even our dogs settled in very quickly. It's great to have a chance to relax in this lovely cottage. A wonderful place to stay. Thank you ".

November 2016
Charlotte and Robin "Had such a wonderful break in your picturesque cottage. We really enjoyed exploring the southern Lakes and loved coming back here to relax in the venings. Thank you for creating such a lovely space!"

September 2016
Julie Dave and Rubie "Lovely little cottage set in the hillside. Weather has been great, the scenery is stunning. Great butchers in Grange, Higginsons. Had a very relaxing break".
Sarah Vince Levi and Henry "Thank you for letting us stay in your charming little cottage which has felt like home from day 1. Cartmel is very pretty and we've treated ourselves to a large sticky toffee pudding. we're looking forward to eating it back in Cornwall. The weather's been fantastic and the scenery breathtaking, enjoyed every minute of our holiday".
"a wonderful relaxing weekend in this beautiful little place. We hope to return! Thank you. PS Forewarned we brought some dry kindling and had no problems with the stove" [We try to supply kindling as a result of these and other comments - John].

August 2016
Chris Julie Joe and Sam "Thank you for a lovely stay in such relaxing surroundings. Highlights were the peace and quiet of the cottage and the excitement of the races which the boys enjoyed very much".
Clare Steven Jacob and Foxy the beagle "Had a fabulous break despite the torrential rain! The cottage is charming and really helped us enjoy a relaxing break. Had a lovely meal at the Hare and hounds and Becky was incredibly helpful in finding us a table - you need to book! All in all a great break in beautiful surroundings. thanks for making us feel so welcome".
Linda Scott and William Moss "A lovely break in this well-appointed cottage with our grandson who enjoyed the kittens boules games and woodland creatures, when not swimming in Coniston Water or the sea in glorious weather. Track up to the house not the slightest problem (see comment in May!) and ensured peace".
Charlie Sal Alex and Rob "We have loved our short stay at BB Cottage. the cottage and the surrounding land is picture perfect, the peace and tranquility has been a tonic for us busy city slickers! Thank you John and Biddy for your hospitality and attention to detail which has surpassed our expectations and confirmed us as regulars to this beautiful part of the country. see you again in the very near future. Many thanks".
The Tredinnick family "we've had a lovely few days in this cosy cottage. Highlights included walking from Cartmel to Grange over Sands via Hampsfell - a stunning walk with spectacular views from Morecambe Bay to the Lakes. So much to see and do here - will definitely be back for a longer stay next year".

July 2016
Chandra Edward Micahel Sarah and Bobby the Westie "Dearest John and Biddy, thank you so much for our stay at BB Cottage! We've had a lovely time here and Cartmel is a lovely village - sticky toffee pudding - yum! We appreciated coming back to the cosiness of the cottage after Ed's Lakeland Zoo challenge, it was always a welcome sight! Thanks again for everything".
Mike and Tim from Swindon "Weather half good, cottage just right for two trumpet players needing to practice in between walking! A surprisingly good location to be based! Our highlight was climbing Scafell Pike from Langdale valley on a clear day - 17 miles of bliss. Two bathrooms and real luxury for two".
Colin Melanie and our two dogs "Lovely short break, we really like the South Lakes and Cartmel is a fantastic little village! This is a super place to stay: the cottage is quirky but offers so much and a really good place to see the area. We would recommend Broughton Bank and thank you!"

June 2016
Mark Caroline and the dogs Watson and Sherlock "Yet another great week at the cottage. A much needed rest away from everyday life. The cottage, as usual, was excellent and the flowers were lovely. we are looking forward to our New Year's stay and will be booking again for next summer".
Judith and Eric, John and Janet "Had a lovely stay - ideal for a long weekend! Excellent accommodation - shame the sun only came out as we left (but that's nothing to do with John and Biddy!). Thank you".

May 2016
Jane John Holly and Parker Cutler "Had a lovely stay here at BB cottage. Loved the cottage. absolutely charming and spotlessly clean. Will definitely recommend and will stay here again when we are back in the area. Thanks very much".
Gary Yvonne and John from Durham "Fantastic place great stay facilities too. Wonderful weekend at Cartmel Races and Simply Red. Location is wonderful and some lovely little extras. Thank you John and Biddy we will be back".
Fiona Arlene Ray Hutcheson from New Zealand and Lily Dowden an Aussie "John and biddy it has been a delight to stay in your cottage, thank you so much! Thank you for the beautiful flowers, rhododendrons, it wasa lovely thought. After arriving in London, doing France and heading west to Lands End and up to Cardiff, Liverpool it was great to havea few days 'downtime' before heading on our way again. If we are back in England we'll be sure to look you up".
"Lovely cottage. Quite hard to access. Up steep bank, inside is beautiful. Could do with more information on waht to do around Cartmel. We didn't know where to eat. all in all a very enjoyable stay".
"Nice place. Made my satnav go mad though [Owner's note: see the directions and map in the final confirmation of booking letter] Got lost a few times but we made it back. Only bad thing was a big rock near the top left next to bent tree which I hit on Saturday night coming back from a night out. It will cst me more to fix the damage than it cost for the holiday, so drivers beware. But still a good holiday".

April 2016
Carol Rachael Ian and Frida "We've had a lovely stay. So warm and cosy and in such a good location. We came to go to Predator Experience and we 100% recommend it if you are into animals. We did the wolf walk - not wolves, hybrids - met the [illegible] and finally went for a walk in the woods with a Harris Hawk. dee and Dan are so knowledgeable and every question asked was answered and then some! Totally magical. For food check out harry's Cafe at Yew tree Barn - delicious. we will definitely be back as there are more Predator Experiences we want to do! Thank you for a lovely and relaxing stay".
Tiggy Giz Billy and Zeb "What a find!! amazing cottage - magical. We shall be back and have already told lots of people to come and stay! Based ourselves here to catch up with family and have had great fun - kids and dad about to scare themselves at GoApe! Actually I will scare myself watching them - should be doing it too! Thanks so much for a lovely break!"
Sharon Mavis Frank and Archie boy the boxer "Booked the cottage as central for a family get together (80th party). Couldn't have asked for a better location! The cottage is excellent, the log burner an added bonus! Nice to walk to Cartmel albeit weather not so accommodating!! John you have been superb from inital enquiry through to meet and greet on the night, many thanks. Would definitely recommend".

March 2016
Iam Louisa and Neil "Stayed for a wedding in Cartmel. The cottage was a perfect location to stay. Warm clean and all the facilities you need. Would love to come again".

February 2016
Angus Caroline Lily and Jari "What a lovely stay so peaceful and cosy. really felt like we got away from it all. Despite crazy wet weather felt refreshed and recharged. Looking forward to the next time. thank you".
Sally, Chris, Lawrence and Owen "Wonderful half term short break. Thank you so much for such a well equipped warm and cosy cottage. We have all loved exploring the area and would definitely recommend it!"
Henry and Cookie "Sorry couldn't finish the washing up as there's no water. Other than that it was lovely stay, shame we couldn't use the fire".

December 2015
Mark Caroline and Watson and Sherlock the dogs "Happy New year. We always thought that going back to the same place wasn't a good idea as the second visit might not have the same magic. not so here, our second visit to the cottage has been even better. It was so cosy warm and comfortable and the underfloor heating was great - didn't have to wear slippers!! We are both looking forward to our summer visit and many more".
Shelagh and Rory Laird "Many thanks for a very warm comfortable stay over Christmas. Lots of good walks - waterproofs thoroughly tested! Thanks also for the little Christmas tree, much appreciated. (Secret of the woodburner seems to be plenty of wind to get it to draw properly(".

November 2015
M Jubair "Thank you for an awasome stay at the cottage. We enjoyed our stay in the village. Thank you for your help and directions. Will recommend".
Farrells and Fieldings and Tyrer the dog "This is our second stay this year. We came in March and enjoyed it so much we came back. Lovely warm cottage to return to after a long walk, and a great base to explore the Lakes. No doubt we'll be back again!"

October 2015
Sparkes family "Thank you very much for such an amazing holiday cottage. The Lake District has wonderful views and the cottage is so warm and cosy! We had a lovely time - Elise. It was really good The Lake district was amazing. WE HAD WIFIIIII! - Cameron. We had such a great time, thank you for sharing this cottage - cosy, fab location to see the Lakes at their best!"
Sofia "Greta place and hsopitality".
Calum and Ewan (Freshwaters) "We liked the cottage because it does have mushrooms in the garden. We went on a boat ride to Bowness. Ewan and I held an owl called Thor".
Alastair Mij and Philip Thomson from St Cyrus Montrose Angus "We have enjoyed our few days here. Fantastic weather cosy comfortable cottage. Walking every day mainly locally exploring various paths and bridleways".

September 2015
Sue Ralph and Maxwell from a tiny village in Bene Alston "Wow, to everything. Cottage lovely. We have taken advantage of the wonderful weather and done and seen everything possible .... nothing average to report all superb. we came away from Devon needing some R and R and certainly got it. We will recommend for sure and will be back".
Jamie caroline and Reuben "Thank you for a wonderful 4 day break in your cottage! The location is stunning and the cottage was jkust whjat we were looking for. We loved the log burner! Thank you for you quick response to our last minute booking! Definitely will recommend!"

August 2015
Aileen Vince Wend and Barb from Southport Liverpool "We'd like to thank you for an enjoyable weekend in your beautiful cottage. this was our first visit to the area and we would certainly like to come back. We have left a couple of games for visitors to enjoy. We'll be back!"
Maryrose matt and Annie from London, Anne and Peter from Sydney Australia "Thank you John and Biddy for a perfect week in BB Cottage! It is full of great amenities and atmosphere allowing our small party of friends to enjoy ourselves immensely. The cottage sits so well in its setting and in the local Cartmel district with wonderful food, sights and sites to explore. Beyond, it's an ideal entry to the Lakes fells fens and historic sites. we explored these for days! We will certainly recommend Broughton Bank to friends.

July 2015
Karen Jim Hannah and Sophie Sykes "We've had a wonderful fortnight, thank you very much! Highlights include sunny evenings in Royal Oak beer garden, many many picnics, long walks up to and around High Dam (the girls even swam in the lake), Grizedale Forest and around and beyond Tarn Howse around Coniston, around Arnside to Silverdale and back, up to the Hospice here in cartmel, Gummers How and more, dinners at Mason's Arms, Strawberry Bank and Cavendish Arms Cartmel. A beautiful area and lovely cosy cottage. Very clean too with everything we needed. many thanks!"
Maddy Jay Rishi and Rothan "We've had a great time here in spite of the weather ranging from blazing sunshine to torrential rain and back again! The cottage is beautiful tastefully and thoughtfully decorated and had everything we needed. favourite moment for me had to be whizzing down the hills at Grizedale Forest on a mountain bike, On the rainiest of days we enjoyed the aquarium at Bowness and a trip on Windermere. For eating out we would recommend You and me Chinese restaurant at Bowness - cheap and cheerful! Thanks to John and \b\iddy for a lovely stay and for the wine and flowers!"
Kev Denise Harvey Ellie and Heidi "Thank you for a lovely break. The cottage was nicely kept and very cosy in beautiful surroundings, with towns just a short drive away. We also walked to Cartmel quite a few times. a nice day out for all the family especially children of any age was Grange over Sands artound a 15 minute drive away from the cottage. We walked along the Prom and played a variety fo sports for just £5. All in all a great holdiay, enjoyed by all the family including the dog and we would recommend to family and friends. We hope to return".
Kiyoko and Michiko "Many thanks for a wonderful break. We had a great time at the cottage and enjoyed the surroundings. Also thank you for tht emilk and a portable BBQ set, very thoughtful indeed. We enjoyed welcoming flowers too!"
Josh James Miranda and David "many thanks for a wonderful stay. Fantastic cottage in beautiful surroundings. We hope to come back again in the future!"
Alistair and Katie "Thank you very much for a lovely break. The cottage was comforatble and tidy with the woodburner a particularly nice touch. We have thoroughly enjoyed our stay with you and in the cottage. We will probably be back to see the other cottage next time!"
Jon Demelza and Emily Mutchell "A beautiful and lovely cottage. we have had a wonderful time here relaxing away from it all. Will definitely be back! PS Thanks for the lovely bread!"

June 2015
Tim Francesca Paul and Rebecca "Fantastic cottage. We will definitely be back".
Mark, Caroline and the dogs "We struck gold when we booked this cottage. It is so much better then we imagined. The cottage is fantastic and the surrounding garden and countryside is beautiful. We have had a wonderful week just chilling and relaxing! As soon as we get home we are booking a return visit. Thank you".
Bek Tim Sam and Harry "What a lovely holiday home for a base in the Lakes! Close to a lot of places we have never explored, we have now! The boys enjoyed their holiday adventure, Thank you. Have a good one!"
Colette and Andy "Absolutely perfect! we will be back. Thank you".
Adam and Dawn "Lovely stay in this beautiful cottage in such peaceful surroundings. Will definitely be returning. Thank you".

May 2015
Rob and Dawn "Thank you for a lovely stay! Cosey cottage feel, superb location, extremely well equipped. Close to main house but we were never once disturbed. felt like a home from home. Lovely peaceful setting! we will definitely be back and next time bring our dog".
Fiona Harry and Rebecca "Lovely cottage, fantastic area - will definitely be coming back with husband!"

February - May 2015
Linda and John Hilton "Many thanks for a lovely stay. We thought the cottage was very comfortable, and very well equipped. Look forward to returning in the future".
Vanessa, Nick, Jeff, Macey and Crumpet "Thank you for a lovely break! Your cottage is beautiful and we've enjoyed every minute of our stay".

January 2015
Gethin, Glenda, Eric, Lisa & Freddie "We enjoyed an excellent long weekend at the cottage despite the stormy weather. We walked every day and were able to enjoy the warm log fire and local food in the cottage each evening. Thanks John for keeping an eye on things and fixing the washing machine".

December 2014
Liz, Robin, Charlie and Lucy (and Dylan the dog) from Bedfordshire "Lovely New Year's break in this cosy cottage. Prosecco and Scrabble in front of the fire on New Year's Eve, followed by a walk from Cartmel Racecourse and a lazy lunch at the King's Arms - would recommend. Went walking in and around Windermere (Elterwater and Chapel stile). Too short but would love to return".

November 2014
Jenny & Aaron from Kent "Lovely long weekend! Loved the cottage! Tried to use the log burner but failed and ended smoking the downstairs out! Love to come back in the summer. Thanks for having us".
Rod and Jill "Weather was better than forecast and the cottage was very well-equipped and in good order. We had meals at the Cavendish, Royal Oak and Priory Hotel in Cartmel but actually found a much better meal at the White Hart Inn at Bouth which is not far away. Many thanks to John for his help and advice".

October 2014
Lee, Kathryn, Charlie & Molly "We've had a great time in the cottage. It far surpassed our expectations, it looked so small from the outside but the design inside has made great use of the space. It's furnished and decorated fabulously with the old and the new. I would have liked to have made use of the log burner but it was plenty warm enough without. We loved looking at the stars through the window in the roof, we enjoyed the gentle stroll into Cartmel which is a lovely village. We found the location great as a base for the whole of the Lake District. Best wishes."
Michael & Anne from Kent & Martha & Bengt from Sweden "A wonderful break in a most beautiful part of our country. Thank you for your diligence, John, in getting us re-connected to the internet and repairing the bedroom light. We loved our stay at BB - it creaks but it's gorgeous! Many thanks."
Frances Jane & Emma "Very enjoyable stay in a lovely peaceful setting being entertained by the chickens. Can highly recommend the Sticky Toffee Pudding at the Royal Oak in Cartmel!"

September 2014
Val, Andy & Lesley "Lovely, peaceful (apart from the upstairs bedroom floor!) cottage. A great base for the Lakes. I'm sure we will return."
Alison Jeff Molly & dogs "Had a wonderful stay in this well-equipped cottage. Very warm and comfortable and the dogs loved it too! So quiet - a perfect spot to explore this part of the Lake district. Cartmel is lovely and there is a fabulous 6 mile walk starting at the race course - we got lunch at the village shop as they have lovely pastries and quiches etc. Then a trip up the Duddon Valley and back down the side of Windermere gave great views and variety of scenery as well as some challenging driving over the Hardknott Pass! Only thing we couldn't find in the kitchen was a cheese grater but hey, who needs to grate cheese on holiday? It was just as good 'finely pared' over our risotto. Many thanks for a lovely stay."

August 2014
Erma, Tim, Zoe Lara & Leo from Scotland "Comfortable cottage in a lovely spot, easy to get to interesting locations and good walks. Highlight was a visit to Blackwell House an hour before closing, which meant we were the only visitors in this amazing house. This was followed by the Globe Theatre performing Much Ado About Nothing in the house grounds, all absolutely magic. Thank you for a great stay!"
Mary Martin & Jake "Most enjoyable stay. GREAT LOCATION, easy walk to Cartmel. Pity weather let us down a bit but we still got out. Dog enjoyed himself, all new smells etc."
Joanne, Mark, Ryan & Connie "A lovely stay in a lovely clean cottage. Thank you. "

July 2014
Sara & Steve "We have had the most beautiful time here in the Lake District. The cottage is beautiful and we particularly enjoyed waking up with the chicken at the front door. We now refer to him as 'Fred'. We will definitely recommend and hopefully be back next year to celebrate our Anniversary. Thank you!"
Marianne, Jacob, Gustav & Lan from Denmark "We've had a great stay time at Broughton Bank Cottage. We had a little trouble finding the place at first but that seems a normal situation for us when vacationing. The weather has been amazing (Sun and 25 - 30 degrees every day). Took the train from Ravenglass and went for a short walk before returning. Went sailing on Lake Windermere in a small private rental boat (85 - 4 hours) well worth the money. Had a great walk in the mountain a bit north of Ulpha - tracks aren't marked that well but that might be our Scandinavian sense of 'whereabouts'. Great drives around the Lake District, a bit terrifying at times since we're driving on the wrong side of the road but we visited some nice towns and thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Many thanks for the guidance John and all the best to you, your family and this great place."
Greg and Jeanette, Monmouth "The most expensive hotels and idyllic B"Bs are always ruined by other people's noise - not so Broughton Bank Cottage. Our first cottage holiday but certainly not our last. Peace quiet, solitude, no phone - perfection. Beautifully furnished, comfortable; don't want to leave."

June 2014
The Wilsons, Edinburgh "Quirky cottage - spotlessly clean and well-equipped. Fabulous setting - extremely disappointing view from the sitting room, luckily our weather was mainly good to allow us to enjoy the lovely garden."
Lucas & Charlotte "What a lovely stay! The cottage was exactly what we had hoped for: old countryside feel with modern cons. The owner was very nice and helpful. We would definitely recommend this place and wish all following rentees a great stay!"
Matt & Gilly "What an amazing place! So cozy - we had the woodburner running every night despite the fact that it's summer. Had a great couple of days."

May 2014
Karen, Mike, Jasper and Henry "Had a lovely week's holiday at the races, still not a millionaire but staying in this cottage made up for it. This is our 5th or 6th visit up here. Usually we stay at John and Biddy's Woodland Cottage but this one is equally as nice. We were lovely and warm and the bedroom was very cosy. Lying there in the mroning looking through the start lights was a relaxing way to wake up. We will definitely be back up here next year. Thank you."

February 2014
Steve & Jorje "Thanks for allowing my daughter and I to stay in your fantastic cottage. Everything was brilliant and we had a great stay. I will be posting on TripAdvisor when I get home."
Mandy and family "Lovely cosy cottage. Had everything we needed. We enjoyed walks on Humphrey Head, Walney Island, Grizedale Forest, Troutbeck Fells and Greater Fairfield Horseshoe, and final day up Whitrigg and Elterwater. Thank you"

January 2014
The Casey family "Thank you! We have had a lovely couple of days here. We have been to the Lake District many times and this is one of the nicest cottages we have stayed in. Warm, cosy and well designed. The boys found the chicken very funny and called him Nugget"

December 2013
Dan, Neil, Becci & Si "Thank you for a lovely place to end a year and start another. Thanks also for helping us to find the saucepans (under the secret drawer under the oven). Apologies for the several fire alarms - we didn't even burn the sausages! The cottage was lovely and cosy and we've had a lovely trip."
Rachel James Aaron & Austin "a beautiful and most intricate cottage - wonderfully restored to a high standard. We enjoyed a lovely walk on Christmas Day and would also recommend a visit to Brockhole which we did on Boxing day. We had some gorgeous photos of Windermere and thoroughly enjoyed the boat ride there. We are certain that we will visit again. Thank you for all your help and recommendations, we felt very welcome.

November 2013
Debbie Gary Katie & David "We've had a lovely stay at this small but perfectly formed little cottage. We had a great game of hide and seek. Be advised though you really needed a window open to get the fire going . We mastered it on our last night. If you don't open the window the room fills with smoke [this has now been fixed JH]. The owners are very helpful. Thanks very much."

October 2013
Diane Mark & Maisy "Lovely cottage in a beautiful quiet location. Really enjoyed our stay."
Tora Duncan Sue & Dominic "My first visit to the Lake District but won't be my last. Lovely warm cottage, and a good mid-point for friends from Edinburgh and London to meet."

September 2013
Claire, Chris & Rhiannon (London) "We have really enjoyed our first visit to the Lake District, we will be back as four days isn't enough to explore everything we wanted. Lots to do for all ages and our 2 year old had a great time. The cottage is beautiful and very homely. Cartmel is a lovely town with lovely pubs inside and out!

Violet, Evey, Neil, Alexandru (Oxford) "Thank you so, so, so much for the lovely cottage! I'm really sad we're leaving. We had such a great time and the cottage and the countryside around it is absolutely beautiful, especially the rock field! And I adored the Friesians! Again, thank you so much for the best holiday EVER!!! Beautiful weather too!"

August 2013
Kate, Tobias, Helga & Tim "Thanks for a lovely cottage, WiFi, garden and quiet very welcome. A well-stocked kitchen and good sized bedrooms! Thank you! Beautiful weather too!".
Patrick & Kathryn from Australia "A great stay in a wonderful area and very comfortable cottage".

July 2013
Charlotte, Oliver, Joanne & Ian "... A lovely quirky cottage, Royal Oak pub in the village has good food great beer garden and dog friendly. Coniston is a great place to visit for water activities and nice cafe. Sandgate is a great place for dogs and only 10 mins away. John very helpful and we were lucky with the weather".

June 2013
Bome, Billie, John & Janice from Australia "... The old cottage great, warm, friendly. Shame about the fire and WiFi [problems with these were fixed just after] but all the rest absolutely worth the stay".
Alison & Nick from Kent "Great weather ... I brought my mountain bike and have had the best riding I have ever done".
Kim, Kev & Dutch the dog "We had a fab time at the cottage, helped by the gorgeous weather we had! Such a lovely place to relax and enjoy a BBQ. we really couldn't have asked for anything more ...".
John & Sue "We have really enjoyed our week here ...".

May 2013
Nicole, John, Tony, Oliver & Elle "We had a lovely time ... very relaxing and the Cottage was well-equipped".
Helen, Andy, Ryan and Lauren "The Cottage is quaint and well equipped, very relaxing ... would recommend Cottage and Cartmel."

April 2013
Tony and all "Thanks for a great stay at Broughton Bank Cottage; it was a lovely few days for us and the pups and a great chance to rediscover part of the Lakeland Peninsula that we've generally only driven through. Cartmel itself was delightful. The dogs, considering it was their first time away from home, thoroughly enjoyed themselves in the grounds and out and about."

March 2013
Val, Derek and Christa "Had a great week in a lovely cottage. .."
Maria, Ian, Ellis and Luca "...The [boys] loved playing in the garden, being 'boys'! The house is lovely..."

February 2013
Carolyn, Helen and baby Annie "...Tne cottage is beautiful and contains everything needed at your fingertips. This will be a first class accommodation once the internet connection is working and an ideal base for exploring the Lake District. ..." [We're still waiting for BT 9 weeks later!]

December 2012
Jenny, Stephen and Imogen "...Will definitely return. Was great base for the South Lakes. We'll also recommend!"

October 2012
Adrian, Claudia, Fenella and the furry friends (the first guests) "...Beautiful location and a cottage to match. We'll certainly recommend!"

Page created 1 June, 2018